zoqafs.blogg.se

Mass Effect for windows instal
Mass Effect  for windows instal





Mass Effect for windows instal

Change this to your actual Mass Effect CD key (not the BDtS key) without dashes (just alphanumeric characters). In that key there is a default value, mine was set to something asinine like %CDKEY%. Open regedit and navigate to HK_LOCAL\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Electronic Arts\Electronic Arts\Mass Effect ™\egrc (omit Wow6432Node if you’re still on a 32 bit OS, shame on you!). After a bit of background reading (and some more muttering about EA and their stupid DRM on a free expansion) I tried some of the common tricks (killing the Bring Down the Sky_code.exe process, running in compatibility mode, etc.) as well as a few uncommon ones (busting open the installer executable and manually inserting files into the mass effect program folder, doing a differential copy from an old working copy of mass effect w/ BDtS installed).Īfter a little digging it turns out that the DLC installer relies on a registry entry with your Mass Effect CD key, something that was missing when I checked. Um, what? I immediately typed the error into Google and was inundated with other people having the same problems. To make a long story short I ended up logging back into my Bioware account to recover my BDtS key (all the while muttering about how stupid this entire process was for a free DLC). After finding the installer and executing it, I was asked for a key. My first playthrough save (bare-bones, no sidequests, etc.) worked great but my second playthrough (complete, all sidequests) required that I install the “Bring Down the Sky” DLC as I had installed and played it with that profile. On a whim I launched Mass Effect from Steam to see if my savegames were still intact. I found my save games from an old backup (apparently Bioware likes to stick savegames in Users\\Documents\Bioware) and copied them over to my desktop machine. With Mass Effect 2 coming out shortly I decided it was high time to go find my save games from the original, as it has been made clear that your actions in the first game will affect the characters and play of the 2nd game. This is a bit long-winded, scroll down for the answer if you’re impatient.







Mass Effect  for windows instal